
Anyone who has priced a gym membership in the last few years probably knows the David Lloyd pattern: there is no single national price to compare. Instead, the monthly figure shifts with club, tier, and contract — a structure David Lloyd’s official membership pages describe in plain terms. The practical question is whether the premium delivers enough extra to justify the bill, and how to lower it if you decide the club is worth joining.
Founded: 1982 ·
Parent company: Brookfield Asset Management (since 2013) ·
Number of clubs: 130+ across the UK and Europe ·
Members: 700,000+ (widely cited estimate) ·
Typical monthly fee: £100–£200, depending on club and tier
Quick snapshot
- No fixed national price — cost varies by club, membership type, access hours, facilities and contract length (David Lloyd official membership options page)
- Initial 12-month contract or a flexible initial three-month term, per the official contracts page
- Some classes and facilities carry an additional cost, per the official membership options page
- Exact member numbers — 700,000+ is a widely cited estimate, not an audited figure
- Current debt level — private company, no public filings found
- 2026 price tiers are secondary estimates, not an official price list
- 1982 — company founded by former tennis player David Lloyd (David Lloyd Membership Cost, unofficial pricing tracker)
- 2013 — acquired by Brookfield Asset Management (David Lloyd Membership Cost, unofficial pricing tracker)
- 2026 — first widely shared tier-by-tier price estimates (Club, Plus, Platinum, Diamond) circulate online (David Lloyd Membership Cost, unofficial pricing tracker)
- Flexible three-month terms let new members test the club before a 12-month commitment, per the official contracts page
- Request a written quote from your local club — published estimates don’t set your price
- Watch for promotion periods that can waive the £50–£160 joining fee (Nerdbot, consumer lifestyle outlet)
Nine data points, one pattern: the company’s stable facts are easy to find, but the financial details — members, debt, exact fees — are estimates, not disclosures.
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1982 |
| Founder | Former tennis player David Lloyd |
| Parent company | Brookfield Asset Management (since 2013) |
| Number of clubs | 130+ across the UK and Europe |
| Members | 700,000+ (widely cited estimate) |
| Typical monthly fee | £100–£200 typical, depending on club and tier; 2026 unofficial estimates span roughly £75–£250+ by tier (David Lloyd Membership Cost, unofficial pricing tracker) |
| Contract options | Initial 12-month contract or flexible initial three-month term (David Lloyd Clubs, official contracts page) |
| Joining fee | Commonly £50–£160 per adult, can be waived during promotions (Nerdbot, consumer lifestyle outlet) |
| National price list | None published — price varies by club, membership type, access hours, facilities and contract length, per the official membership options page |
How Much Does a David Lloyd Knowsley Membership Cost?
Knowsley follows the same rule as every David Lloyd club: there is no published national rate. The official membership options page states that the price varies by club, membership type, access hours, facilities and contract length, which is why any Knowsley or Warrington figure you see online is an estimate until a club confirms it in writing.
What factors affect David Lloyd membership pricing by location?
- Club location — London and South East clubs carry a clear premium over many regional clubs, according to a consumer lifestyle overview
- Membership type — 2026 pricing summaries describe tiers from Club to Diamond, each with its own range
- Access hours, facilities and contract length — all three are named by the club as price variables
David Lloyd Membership Cost (unofficial pricing tracker) puts the 2026 tiers at:
- Club tier: £75–£140 per month
- Plus tier: £90–£135 per month
- Platinum tier: £120–£190 per month
- Diamond tier: £160–£250 or more per month
Eight locations, one pattern: London sits clearly above the field, while most regional clubs cluster within a similar band, according to the same unofficial tracker’s 2026 estimates.
| Club location | Reported Platinum range (per month) |
|---|---|
| London | £160–£230 |
| Harlow | £110–£150 |
| Bristol | £105–£145 |
| Nottingham | £100–£140 |
| Cardiff | £100–£140 |
| Coventry | £95–£135 |
| Poole | £95–£135 |
| Exeter | £95–£130 |
These are secondary estimates, not quotes. Use them as a budgeting range, then call the club. The implication: location is the single biggest variable in David Lloyd’s pricing, and a written quote remains the only real baseline for any specific club.
Are there introductory offers or discount schemes?
- Joining fees commonly run £50–£160 per adult and can be waived during promotions (Nerdbot, consumer lifestyle outlet)
- A flexible initial three-month term is the official short-term entry, per the official contracts page
- Some classes and facilities cost extra, so a discounted headline rate doesn’t guarantee a smaller final bill, per the official membership options page
The pattern: the advertised headline rate is rarely the final number, and the three-month term is the one official lever that limits your risk before a full-year commitment.
Do David Lloyd Do Day Passes?
A day pass is the obvious way to test a club, but the official materials reviewed for this guide don’t include a day-pass product or price. The documented routes into a club are two: an initial 12-month contract or a flexible initial three-month term, per the official contracts page.
What is the cost of a David Lloyd day pass?
- No verified day-pass price emerged from the official pages reviewed
- The closest documented option is the flexible initial three-month term
- If a club offers day visits, the price is set locally — no national day-pass rate was found
Can you use a David Lloyd club without a membership?
- Yes — through the flexible initial three-month term, which works as a short-term membership
- The 12-month contract is the other documented option
- The official pages reviewed don’t document a central guest-visit route — ask the club directly
The trade-off: with no documented day pass, the flexible three-month term is the lowest-risk way to test David Lloyd before you lock into a 12-month contract.
Has David Lloyd Been Sold?
Yes — once. Brookfield Asset Management acquired David Lloyd in 2013, and the company’s own materials still name Brookfield as the parent today. The group runs more than 130 clubs across the UK and Europe.
Who owns David Lloyd now?
- 1982 — founded by former international tennis player David Lloyd
- 2013 — Brookfield Asset Management acquired the company
- Today — more than 130 clubs in the UK and Europe operate under Brookfield ownership
If you’re checking whether David Lloyd has been sold recently, the confirmed ownership record is the 2013 Brookfield acquisition.
Is David Lloyd in debt?
Debt level: not published ·
Company type: private ·
Public filings: none found
David Lloyd is a private company, which means it doesn’t file the same financial disclosures as a listed group. None of the sources reviewed contained a verified debt figure, so treat any specific number you see online as an estimate, not a fact.
Is David Lloyd making money?
- Profitability margins are not publicly reported for the private company
- The widely cited member count of 700,000+ is an estimate, not an audited figure
- Revenue and profit figures were not found in the official sources reviewed
The pattern: every financial question about David Lloyd — debt, profit, or ownership — hits the same wall. The company is private, and privacy is why the numbers stay fuzzy.
Is David Lloyd Overpriced?
Value is where David Lloyd gets judged hardest, and the pricing data supports both reactions. The monthly ranges are premium, but the flexible three-month term and waived joining fees are genuinely useful tools for lowering the cost of testing the club.
Is Nuffield better than David Lloyd?
- David Lloyd: no national price list; cost varies by club, membership type, access hours, facilities and contract length, per the official membership options page
- Nuffield Health: no verifiable national price surfaced — clubs quote individually
- A fair comparison requires a written quote from each club for the same membership type
Five comparison points, one pattern: David Lloyd’s pricing is documented, Nuffield’s is not, so a same-day written quote from each club is the only fair test.
| Comparison point | David Lloyd | Nuffield Health |
|---|---|---|
| National price list | None published — varies by club, type, access, facilities and contract, per official pages | No verified national list — quotes are club-specific |
| 2026 monthly estimates | Club £75–£140; Platinum £120–£190; Diamond £160–£250+ per unofficial tracker | Not verified — request a quote |
| Initial contract | 12 months or flexible 3-month term, per official contracts page | Club-specific terms — confirm the commitment length |
| Joining fee | Commonly £50–£160, can be waived in promotions, per consumer overview | Ask about waivers in your written quote |
| Extra costs | Some classes and facilities billed on top, per official pages | Confirm which classes and facilities are included |
Upsides
- Flexible initial three-month term lowers the commitment risk
- Joining fees can be waived during promotions, cutting upfront cost
- Regional clubs outside London and the South East cluster at lower estimated ranges
Downsides
- No national price list, so budgeting requires a written quote
- Some classes and facilities carry extra charges on top of membership
- 2026 estimates span £75–£250+ by tier, making it hard to judge a fair deal
What’s the best David Lloyd in the UK?
The regional price data is the closest thing to a best-value ranking: London clubs cost the most, while cities like Exeter, Poole, Cardiff and Coventry sit at the lower end of the Platinum range.
The research behind this guide didn’t produce an official best-club ranking. It did produce a useful proxy: if value matters, test the clubs with the lowest quoted ranges first; if access to premium facilities is the priority, the higher London and South East estimates reflect the premium locations — but only a visit tells you whether that premium is worth it for your routine.
What are the top 5 gyms in the UK?
- No verified top-5 ranking emerged from the sources reviewed
- The research supports a four-point framework instead: price transparency, contract flexibility, extra costs, and joining fees
- On that framework, David Lloyd scores well on flexibility (3-month term) and poorly on transparency (no national price list)
Apply the same four columns to any other chain — ask for a written quote, check the exit terms, list what’s extra, and count the joining fee. That home-made table will serve you better than any viral list of best gyms.
The trade-off: David Lloyd’s premium pricing works in your favour only with frequent use. Four visits a week at a typical £150 monthly fee is roughly £9 per visit; a single weekly visit pushes the cost beyond £34 — a price few workouts justify.
How to Get a Cheaper David Lloyd Membership?
The cheapest David Lloyd membership is usually the one negotiated before you sign, not the one found on a price list. The official model gives you the levers — the question is using them in the right order.
What are the offers for a 3-month David Lloyd membership?
- The flexible initial three-month term is the official short-term option, per the official contracts page
- An unofficial pricing tracker estimates a three-month flexible membership at roughly £300–£480 in total
- The same tracker puts flexible individual memberships at roughly £95–£160 per month
Three-month terms cap your downside: if the club suits you, you convert with experience; if it doesn’t, your exposure ends within a quarter.
Are there referral discounts?
No standing referral discount is documented in the official materials reviewed. If a member-get-member scheme exists at a club, it is local rather than national — ask directly.
The reliable move is to ask the club directly what local incentives exist, and get the answer in writing.
How to negotiate David Lloyd membership fees?
The documented levers are a three-month term, a waived joining fee, and a written quote — negotiation is simply using all three before you commit.
Five steps turn the official pricing model in your favour:
- Request a written quote from your local club — with no national price list, the quote is the only real baseline
- Ask for the flexible three-month term rather than a 12-month contract
- Time your sign-up to a promotion period and ask for the joining fee to be waived — £50–£160 per adult is a real cost
- Check which classes and facilities carry extra charges, and use that list when comparing value
- Benchmark the quote against the unofficial 2026 ranges before signing
The pattern: the members who pay less ask for the three-month term, wait for a joining-fee waiver, and get the inclusions in writing. Those savings are not advertised — they have to be requested.
What’s Confirmed, What’s Still Unclear
After sorting the official pages from the secondary estimates, the line between fact and what remains unverified is clear enough to matter before you budget. The confirmed list draws on the company’s own records and official pages; the unclear list reflects gaps in public disclosure.
Confirmed facts
- Founded in 1982 by former tennis player David Lloyd
- Owned by Brookfield Asset Management since 2013
- More than 130 clubs across the UK and Europe
- No single national membership price, per the official membership options page
- Initial contract is 12 months or a flexible three-month term, per the official contracts page
What’s unclear
- Exact member count — 700,000+ is a widely cited estimate, not an audited figure
- Current debt level — private company, no public filings found
- Profitability margins — not publicly reported
- 2026 tier prices — secondary estimates only, per an unofficial pricing tracker
- Annual cost figures of roughly £1,021–£1,264 — unverified (David Lloyd Prices List, consumer pricing site)
- Young-adult pricing from around £55.95 — unverified (David Lloyd Prices List, consumer pricing site)
Perspectives on David Lloyd’s Pricing
The official position, from the membership options page, is that pricing is local by design:
“David Lloyd does not publish one fixed national membership price; the cost varies by club, membership type, access hours, facilities and contract length.”
David Lloyd Clubs — official membership options page
A consumer lifestyle overview draws the regional line:
“London and South East clubs commonly cost more than many regional clubs; joining fees typically range from approximately £50–£160 per adult and may be waived during promotions.”
Nerdbot — consumer lifestyle outlet
An unofficial pricing tracker sums up the 2026 numbers:
“Club-tier plans sit around £75–£140 a month, Platinum around £120–£190, and Diamond from roughly £160–£250 or more, depending on location and access level.”
David Lloyd Membership Cost — unofficial pricing tracker
David Lloyd asks members to pay for a premium promise, and the company’s own pages make clear the price depends on where and how you join. The smart way to manage that cost is to use the three-month flexible term, time your sign-up to a joining-fee waiver, and check exactly which classes and facilities your tier includes before signing. For the average UK gym-goer weighing David Lloyd against Nuffield Health, the decision is clear: get a written quote from each club for the same membership type and pick the one that covers the facilities you’ll actually use — or accept that the difference is the cost of the brand.
nerdbot.com, groupon.co.uk, goingprivateuk.co.uk, davidlloydpriceslist.co.uk, fawanews.org.uk
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I cancel my David Lloyd membership at any time?
The official terms give you two entry routes: an initial 12-month contract or a flexible initial three-month term. Cancellation rights depend on which one you signed, so ask for the exit terms in writing before you commit.
Are David Lloyd clubs open on weekends?
The materials reviewed don’t include a universal weekend schedule, so the reliable check is the club’s own page or a phone call.
Does David Lloyd offer family membership plans?
Membership type is one of the variables that sets David Lloyd’s pricing, and a family plan — where offered — sits inside that variable. The reviewed pages don’t publish a national family rate, so ask for a written family quote.
What amenities are included in a standard David Lloyd membership?
The official pages are explicit that some classes and facilities carry an additional cost, so there is no universal ‘everything included’ standard. Ask for the included-facilities list in writing with your quote.
How does David Lloyd compare to Virgin Active?
This guide focused on Nuffield Health as the main comparison, and Virgin Active was not covered in the source materials. Use the same test: get written quotes from both clubs for the same membership type, then compare included facilities and extra costs.
Is there a joining fee for new members?
Yes — commonly £50–£160 per adult, according to a consumer lifestyle overview, and it can be waived during promotions. Ask what promotion is running before you agree to pay it.
Can I freeze my David Lloyd membership temporarily?
The official terms reviewed don’t document a universal freeze policy. If freezing matters to you, ask the club before signing and get the answer in writing.



